Edmonton

Ice Castle in Edmonton’s Hawrelak Park

icecastle1

 

When I first learned the Ice Castle was coming to Edmonton, I definitely had no chill about it. I love winter and seeing all the amazing work of the artists who create ice and snow sculptures during the winter months always impresses me. So as they started to build, taking months to craft this really incredible structure out of ice.

I went on a Monday around 3:30pm on a slightly chilly day, so I was lucky to miss the crowds that you’ll normally find filling the grounds. It gave me a chance to take my time, get some great shots of the castle without too many people in the way and to even take my turn on the ice slide.


icecastle11

icecastle8

icecastle9

icecastle6

icecastle5

icecastle3

icecastle2

icecastle7

icecastle12

I was impressed by the icy campfire where you could warm up if you needed a bit of a break from the cold. There’s also a waterfall, a throne and other great snowy spots for you to sneak through or sit on. At some points, wandering through the frozen castle was almost like wandering on a snowy planet somewhere far away. I found it beautiful, incredibly impressive, and a great addition to the winter calendar in Edmonton. I went on a whim, and therefore paid $18 for entrance, but if you book ahead online, you can cut the cost to $12.95 for an adult weekday ticket.

Tips for your visit:

  •  Wear warm clothes and your best winter boots! This seems obvious, but I’ll admit to not wearing warm enough boots – and no one wants chilly toes. Also, all that ice can make for a slippery surface. I definitely almost fell a few times (especially on the slippery stairs up near the slide.)
  • Buy tickets ahead of time. You’ll save money and also guarantee yourself a spot if you’re going on a busy time.
  • Use the bathroom before your time. There’s no bathroom at the Ice Castle – so if you’re like me and have a small bladder, definitely pee before you leave. (Also important if you’re taking kids to the castle.)
  • If you aren’t a fan of crowds, try to slip out of work early and go around 3pm when it opens. I’ve heard from friends who have gone on the weekend and busier evenings and sometimes it might be a bit too crowded to be enjoyable.
  • Make sure you have a full phone battery or your camera charged – there are some great spots for photos, as the #icecastleyeg feed on Instagram can attest to.
  • If you’re coming from out of town, I’d recommend coming in February during the Silver Skate Festival, which is also held in Hawrelak Park. Get a full day of winter fun in all at once!
  • I preferred seeing the Ice Castle in the daytime, but my friend Linda went at night – it’s two great experiences and let’s face it, we’re both planning to attend the vice versa to see it the opposite way.

icecastle10

Leave your two cents...